Skip to content

Hey there!

April 1, 2010

Hi there! My name’s Eric Yip and I am an American Born Chinese (ABC). For the longest time, I’ve wondered why there weren’t many resources on Cantonese, much less good ones, on the Internet. I could be asking for too much but after learning Japanese for quite some time, I was astounded to find an incredible wealth of information and resources dedicated to teaching Japanese. In fact, there is one website in particular that I think exceeds most expectations and that is Tae Kim’s Guide to Japanese. Although his site is not perfect (nothing is) I find his website incredibly well written with a good structure. I also like the fact that he teaches the informal mode of speaking instead of formal first and this is a conscious decision that many authors steer clear away from. He clearly had a vision for Japanese learning and he stuck with it.

So if Japanese can have a lot of resources, why can’t Cantonese as well? I’m not sure why this is the case; maybe it’s laziness, or maybe it’s because they can’t figure out a good way to teach it. Whatever it is, I’m here to shatter it all to pieces. I do believe I have the capacity to teach Cantonese in the same compact and efficient manner as Tae Kim did for Japanese. Hence, this blog was born. Please excuse the name rip-off.  (^▽^;)

A little about myself: I was born in the USA and my ancestors are from Guangdong. I am the first generation here in America so I’ve had quite the linguistic experience growing up. It’s surprising to learn that English is my third language, and yet it is my best. My first is a Chinese dialect called ‘Hakka’ and second is Cantonese. But once I started school, it all went away. It wasn’t until high school when I actually showed any interest in learning Cantonese. But even throughout high school years and on forward, I still retain a lot of the bad grammar that came from myself attempting to copy what I hear and translating directly from English into Cantonese. As such, I would like to apologize ahead of time in the case I ever do make a mistake, and I’m sure I definitely will. It wasn’t until recently that I started to study Cantonese so I will constantly add what I learn into the lessons here. If any of you that are fluent speakers find mistakes in my lessons and examples, please feel free to correct me! Where would we be if we didn’t make any mistakes? That’s a rhetorical question, don’t answer it.

So I hope that you all support me in this endeavor. I will try my best to keep this updated daily with the most correct information. Please leave a comment if you have something to say or have any questions. Thank you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 10:28 pm

    Woot! Good start!

  2. wai ming permalink
    April 3, 2010 5:16 am

    Hope to see more soon! 支持你!

  3. April 3, 2010 6:01 am

    我祝你好運氣。咁樣開始寫嘅博客真係幾難做,零舍一種廣東話嘅博客。

    如果你想讀啲難寫嘅廣東話,請過嚟我嘅博客:
    juksingdou.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

