Skip to content

Back After Hiatus

May 24, 2010

Hey everybody. Sorry to keep you all waiting. I’ve been quite busy with work and other priorities in life, but I finally came with a new page. I just wanted to say that my parents used to tell me that listening to Cantonese songs would help me learn Cantonese. I can tell you with confidence that it will NOT help you learn Cantonese. Something about the mass majority of popular songs containing lyrics of Mandarin grammar might have something to do with it. If you ever spoke the way they sing in Cantonese songs, you will be laughed at, probably.

On another note, I am still in the process of creating an outline for the future lessons. I am scouring the net for books and their table of contents to see how their material is laid out, as well as what kind of grammar they choose to teach. There isn’t much available so it’s becoming a little tough to make a meaty blog. I am also figuring out ways to incorporate common, and perhaps infrequent, idioms into the future lessons. These kinds of things are important but are rarely ever mentioned in text books. If any of you have ideas, please feel free to comment. Thanks in advance!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ckay permalink
    July 3, 2010 11:22 am

    Listening to cantonese songs will help to a certain degree of understanding the chinese characters that you will come across.
    After that you will recognise many characters in the subtitles when you’re watching tv programs and get the meaning from that.

  2. September 12, 2010 12:03 am

    I’m with Canton168. I was wondering if you’re interested in trading links? And then joining the upcomming cantonese website network I have? if so, drop me a line or visit the website =]

Leave a Reply

